Let me start by stating that I recognize two things. First, it's not entirely fair to single out Congress when so many facets of our governing body feel like they often work against the country they govern. It's probably more accurate to reference pre-sex-tape John Edwards and his "Two Americas" platform... Congress and the political system seem to fight very hard for a tiny sliver of our population. Second, my views tend to have a liberal bias, but I'd like to believe spotting the shortcomings of our political system is independent of ideology.
Having said that, lets get to where we currently stand. It's July 25th, eight days away from the August 2nd deadline. The upside is that America loves countdowns, and this one is no different. Bloomberg TV has a countdown graphic. I expected the graphics to draw inspiration from the Times Square Ball that counts down the last ten seconds before the arrival of a new year - or course, replacing the ball with something phallic and having it move toward some orifice connected to American dignity and common sense. But alas, it's just a clock.
The heart of the issue seems to revolve around raising taxes. Congressional republicans apparently refuse any package that involves raising taxes, ignoring the fact that many changes they want to make act as a tax on the people affected by said change (often the poor and middle classes). They're tax raising cowards because they don't recognize the impact of their proposed changes for what they really are.
The democrats strike me as more courageous ideologically, stating a need for revenue increases to help solve our country's problems. It's their gelatinous approach to affecting their ideas that frustrates so many people. If there are liberals out there who don't already know what was concessions were offered up to republicans, they might want to strap on an adult diaper before reading that list. It was offered in the spirit of compromise, and that's one area that democrats excel in.
So that leaves us inundated with pointless press conferences that play out like a teenage twitter fight. Rep. Boehner has a press conference scheduled for 4pm today, probably to tell us how republicans are going to Rambo this problem on their own since the democrats can't be rational and just sign off on whatever republicans want. Senator Schumer just finished a press conference talking about how republicans refuse to budge an inch even if it means crashing the country despite every effort the democrats have made to put out on this date.
I know that if I did my job as badly as many people in Congress, I would never stop crying.
A brief introduction, hopefully future posts in this experiment get to the point and get out.